West Virginia Department of Commerce Three Branches of Government

Recent Pages: Branches of...

Three Branches of Government

 West Virginia Facts

West Virginia's branches of government

West Virginia's government is divided into three branches - the Executive, the Legislative, and the Judicial - which make up the checks and balances system. This system allows for each branch to maintain an amount of power but not be exceeded by the other two branches.

executive branch executive branch
The executive branch's primary function is to carry out or execute the laws made by the Legislature or the Constitution.

legislative branch
legislative branch
The legislative branch is the branch of government that makes the laws.

judicial branch

judicial branch

The judiciary is made up of courts - supreme, circuit, the magistrate (local) and municipal (city) courts. The judicial branch interprets the laws.