West Virginia Department of Commerce West Virginia Tourism Award Winners

Recent Pages: Award Winners

West Virginia Tourism Award Winners

Tourism awards programs recognize industry leaders and media excellence.
Each year, the West Virginia Division of Tourism salutes our brightest industry leaders and the best tourism and travel media features through our awards programs, Stars of the Industry.

2014 West Virginia Stars of the Industry Awards

Oshel Craigo Lifetime Achievement: Betty Carver

Tourism Professional of the Year: Jim Justice

Best Overall Advertising Campaign: Adventures on the Gorge

Best Overall Marketing Campaign: Greater Morgantown Convention and Visitors Bureau (Morgantown mascot Mo made a surprise appearance to present this award.)

Best Print Article: Graham Averill, Bike Magazine – “Chasing Shadows”

Best Print Photography Layout: New South Media Inc. – “Beguiling Blennerhassett”

Best Internet/E-Magazine Article: New South Media Inc. – “The Trail Map We’ve All Been Waiting For”

Best Website: Tucker County Convention and Visitors Bureau

Best Broadcast: The Today Show – Bridge Day

The Spirit of West Virginia Award: Main Street Fairmont

Social Media Award: Visit Southern West Virginia

The Mountain State Award: Carnegie Hall

West Virginia Community Tourism Development Award: Hardy County, Grant County and Pendleton County Convention and Visitors Bureaus

In addition to the Stars of the Industry awards, a Gold Star award was presented to Kenny Burkhart of the I-81 North Welcome Center. The Gold Star award will be presented annually to an outstanding employee of the West Virginia Division of Tourism.

To view a photo gallery of award winners and conference highlights, visit www.facebook.com/GoToWVPartners.