West Virginia Department of Commerce 2010 Awards Winners

Recent Pages: 2010 Awards...

2010 Awards Winners

The Oshel Craigo Lifetime Achievement Award. The award recognizes Dearborn’s exemplary service to the state’s tourism industry.

Winner:  Murray Dearborn 

The lifetime achievement award is the highest honor given by the West Virginia Tourism Commission. It honors individuals whose support for the tourism industry over many years has helped the industry grow and become an important economic development tool for West Virginia.  Persons nominated for this award must demonstrate continued and long-term leadership and generosity that contributes to the growth and success of the entire state’s tourism industry.

Other 2010 winners:

Best Overall Advertising Campaign: Casino Club at the Greenbrier Resort

Best Overall Marketing Campaign: The Greenbrier Classic

Best Print Article: “Living in Bramwell” by Nikki Bowman (WV Living)

Best Print Photography: Pocahontas County CVB (Visitor’s Guide)

Best Internet/E-magazine article: “A Whirly Twirly Weekend in WV” by Karin Leperi (Destination Magazine)

Best Broadcast: “Extreme Resorts” (The Travel Channel)

Best Website: The Greenbrier

The Spirit of WV: Treasure Mountain Festival Association

The Mountain State: American Mountain Theater

WV Community Development Award: Go Marlinton

Tourism Professional of the Year: Jim Justice (The Greenbrier)