West Virginia Department of Commerce WVSBDC Award Winners

Recent Pages: Success Stories

WVSBDC Award Winners

The West Virginia District Office’s Small Business Week event was held at The Morgantown Events Center in conjunction with the 2012 Teaming To Win Conference on Wednesday, May 30th.  West Virginia’s Small Business Persons of the Year along with five other award winners were honored. Nominations for all of the awards were accepted last fall, and winners were selected by an independent panel of judges.

Those honored at the annual Small Business Awards Luncheon included:

2012 Small Business Person of the Year:
Gene T. Brooks, Jr., President; Frances Foster Brooks, CEO
BrooAlexa, LLC, Charleston, WV

Financial Services Champion:
Clovis B. Lawless, Vice President & Commercial Loan Officer
Community Trust Bank, Summersville, WV

Women in Business Champion:
Kimberley Beth Dole, Owner
Dole Accounting Services, Martinsburg, WV

Young Entrepreneur
Robert James “RJ” Williams, Owner
Reclaim Company LLC, Fairmont, WV

Jeffrey Butland Family-Owned Business of the Year:
Lyle C. Tabb & Sons, LLC, Kearneysville, WV
Lyle C. Tabb, III, President
Howard C. Tabb, Vice President
Jane M. Tabb, Secretary
Lyle C. Tabb, IV, Treasurer
Virginia D. Tabb, Asst. Treasurer
Entrepreneurial Success Award:
Michael P. McKechnie, Managing Member; Peter M. McKechnie, Member
Mountain View Solar and Wind, LLC, Berkeley Springs, WV

Past SBDC Award Winners

WV SBA - Small Business Resource Guide
West Virginia SBA Small Business Resource Guide

A guide published by the SBA outlining tools available to small business owners.