West Virginia Department of Commerce Division of Natural Resources

Recent Pages: Natural...
 

Division of Natural Resources





Our Mission

It is the statutory mission of the West Virginia Division of Natural Resources to provide and administer a long-range comprehensive program for the exploration, conservation, development, protection, enjoyment and use of the natural resources of the State of West Virginia.

Our Organization

Administration Section

  • Provide services to all sections and offices of the Division of Natural Resources in the areas of budgeting, accounting, investments, staffing, payroll, employee benefits, procurement, property management and control, general services, computer application development and maintenance, as well as the publishing of Wonderful West Virginia magazine.
Law Enforcement Section
  • Responsible for the prompt, orderly and effective enforcement of all laws of Chapter 20 (DNR) and rules promulgated under that authority.
  • Coordinates the mandatory hunter education program, boating safety/education program and the whitewater enforcement program.

Office of Land and Streams

  • Responsible for the supervision and administration of the division’s land acquisition and real estate title documents program and the administration of the state’s rivers and streams.

Parks and Recreation Section

  • “…promote conservation by preserving and protecting natural areas of unique or exceptional scenic, scientific, cultural, archaeological or historical significance, and to provide outdoor recreational opportunities for the citizens of this state and its visitors.”
  • Responsible for the management of 35 state parks, seven state forests, five wildlife management areas, the Greenbrier River Trail, and the North Bend Rail Trail. West Virginia’s State Park and Forests facilities are preferred sites for many conferences, business meetings, retreats, conventions and reunions.

Wildlife Resources Section

  • Responsible for the management of the state’s wildlife resources for the use and enjoyment of its citizens.
    • All species of wildlife shall be maintained for values which may be either intrinsic or ecological or of benefit to man. Such benefits shall include: (1) hunting, fishing and other diversified recreational uses; (2) economic contributions in the best interests of the people of this state; and (3) scientific and educational uses.
    • Fish and wildlife activities are conducted on 445,000 acres of Wildlife Management Areas and State Forests; 1.1 million acres of National Forest; 22,000 acres of public impoundments; and 100,000 acres of fishable streams and rivers.
Frank Jezioro
Frank Jezioro
Director
304-558-2754
frank.j.jezioro@wv.gov


West Virginia Division of Natural Resources
324 4th Avenue
South Charleston, WV 25303
304-558-2754
Fax: 304-558-2768
www.wvdnr.gov

Frank Jezioro
Director
frank.j.jezioro@wv.gov

Emily Fleming
Assistant to Director
emily.j.fleming@wv.gov

Lysti Looney
Executive Secretary
lystiann.a.looney@wv.gov

Administration
304-558-3315

Bryan Hoffman
Executive Secretary/Chief of Administration
bryan.m.hoffman@wv.gov


Jessica Taylor
Administration
lessica.l.taylor@wv.gov

Law Enforcement
304-558-2784

David Murphy
Chief
david.e.murphy@wv.gov

Patty Adkins
Administration
patty.a.adkins@wv.gov

Office of Land and Streams
304-558-3225

Joe Scarberry
Supervisor
joe.t.scarberry@wv.gov

Amy Fleck
Administration
amy.d.fleck@wv.gov

Parks and Recreation
304-558-2764

Kenneth Caplinger
Chief
ken.k.caplinger@wv.gov

Vicky Casto
Administration
vicky.l.casto2@wv.gov

Wildlife Resources
304-558-2771

Curtis Taylor
Chief
curtis.i.taylor@wv.gov

Billie Shearer
Administration
billie.j.shearer@wv.gov