West Virginia Department of Commerce Logging

Recent Pages: Logging
 

Logging



Loggin in West VirginiaOperator licensing
Professional logger certification
Timbering operation notification
Inspections
Enforcement

Operator licensing
  • All timber operators must be licensed through the Division of Forestry.
  • Proof of a West Virginia business license must be presented.
  • Proof of compliance with West Virginia workers’ compensation law is required.
  • Evidence of compliance with the West Virginia Unemployment Compensation Division must be provided.
  • A license fee of $150 is required and the license must be renewed every two years.
Professional logger certification
  • The LSCA requires that every harvesting job in the state has at least one certified professional logger on site at all times.
  • To become a certified professional logger, a person must complete training in three areas: forestry BMPs, tree felling and personal safety, and first aid.
  • Certified professional loggers must attend a training course every three years to maintain certification.
  • Each license must be renewed every two years at a cost of $150.

Timbering industryTimbering operation notification

The timber operator must file a notification form at the start of a new harvesting operation containing specific information about:

  • location of the job
  • starting and completion dates
  • timber and property owner information
  • harvest method
  • BMPs to be used

Inspections

  • Every harvesting operation is inspected at least once to ensure complete reclamation and the DOF strives to inspect each one during the first week of operation.
  • Inspections ensure compliance with mandatory BMPs to prevent any potential soil erosion and stream sedimentation.

Enforcement

Compliance orders are issued to loggers in violation of the LSCA.

  • Operators may continue to work while bringing the operation back into compliance.
  • Operators have one to ten days to bring the operation into compliance.
  • Operators who work in violation of the LSCA will be suspended and prohibited from logging until violations are corrected.
  • Fines may be assessed for a variety of reasons, including lack of license, lack of certified logger on site, lack of notification of logging operation and failure to comply with suspension orders. Fines range from $250 to $500 per violation.
  • A license may be suspended for 30 to 90 days for two or more violations in a two-year period or revoked for three or more violations in a two-year period. Revocation lasts for the license year at minimum.
  • As a last step, violators can face civil penalties and fines of $2,500 for the first offense and $5,000 for each subsequent offense.

Back to top

Forestry Newsletter Receive industry news and updates.